CSCA AGM featuring Heather Prior

In by Mark McEwanLeave a Comment


Event Details


CSCA presents a lecture from CSCA’s Vice President, Heather Prior (Associate Professor and Chair of Biology, The King’s University) as a part of CSCA’s 2020 Annual General Meeting.

CSCA Annual General Meeting (Online)
Nov 13 2020

Heather Prior
"All Generations: A Personal Story of Inheritance"

Friday | 7:00 pm - 8:30 pm EST | Zoom Webinar | Registration Required

Our CSCA annual general meeting (AGM) will be held — not in person in Hamilton but — online via Zoom accessible from coast to coast (and beyond!), on Friday 13 November 2020 at 8pm AST = 7pm EST = 6pm CST = 5pm MST = 4pm PST.
We will meet for about 1.5 hours, beginning with a talk by our vice president Heather Prior (details below). The formal part of our AGM will include financial statements as well as a membership affirmation of the executive council’s appointment of our new student and early career representative as well as other items of general interest (reports from our president and executive director) and conversation about our upcoming 50th anniversary in 2023.
Please mark your calendars, and plan to join us!!

RSVP required!

RSVP at http://tiny.cc/csca2020. Agenda & materials were provided to members on Monday 9 November by email.

All Generations: A Personal Story of Inheritance

Genetics, genomes, and genealogies – we live in an age of unprecedented power to unlock our biological heritage. But we still experience human frailties such as infertility, disease, and ultimately death. By considering her own hereditary legacy, both biological and spiritual, CSCA vice-president Heather Prior will reflect on the theme of inheritance, and consider what it might mean to pass on a rich inheritance to future generations.
Heather Prior (Ph.D. Genetics, University of Alberta) is Associate Professor and Chair of Biology at The King’s University in Edmonton, AB. She teaches and studies biology and its history as an associate professor at The King’s University in Edmonton. She has also studied in Winnipeg, Ohio, California, and China. Her research interests include ocular cataracts, honeybee diseases, and the intersection of faith and science, particularly in the area of reproductive technology and treatments for infertility. She delights in teaching, traveling, collaborating, and generally being amazed at the incredible universe God has created. She has experienced the CSCA as a gift of fellowship and an opportunity to nurture and deepen the dialogue between Christian faith and science.