Events

In by

FREE PUBLIC EVENT: CSCA’s Montreal chapter presents an online lecture with Tony Jelsma (Professor of Biology, Dordt University). Towards a Biological Understanding of Gender and Gender Dysphoria The dramatic increase in both the number of cases and the prominence of transgender individuals in recent years raises many questions, particularly for Christians. Is there a biological basis for gender? Is gender fixed? What might be behind this recent increase? More broadly, how do we as Christians deal with the questions surrounding gender? Unfortunately, there aren’t clear or definitive answers to these questions. Moreover, there can be strong disagreement, even among Christians. …

CSCA presents an online lecture from CSCA Winnipeg Chapter Leader, Rebecca Dielschneider (Associate Professor of Biology, Providence University College) as a part of CSCA’s 2021 Annual General Meeting. AGM Schedule 4:00pm PST | 7:00pm EST – introductions 4:10pm – talk by Rebecca 5:00pm – business meeting 5:30pm PST | 8:30pm EST- social time Science Communication During the COVID-19 Pandemic The COVID-19 pandemic has caused millions of deaths. These significant losses in this time of uncertainty have revealed deficiencies in the ways we communicate science to the public. There are important lessons we can take away from this pandemic to help …

FREE PUBLIC EVENT: Trinity Western University’s Faculty of Natural and Applied Sciences and CSCA’s Vancouver chapter present an online lecture with Tom McLeish (Professor of Natural Philosophy in the Department of Physics at the University of York, England). The Poetry and Music of Science “I could not see any place in science for my creativity or imagination,” was the explanation, of a bright school leaver to the author, of why she had abandoned all study of science. Yet as any scientist knows, the imagination is essential to the immense task of re-creating a shared model of nature from the scale of …